Dec 04 2013

Virginia Zimmermann
Marketing and Public Relations Assistant
Office 941-722-6621
Cell 941-932-1006

PALMETTO, Fla. – Carol Whitmore has been re-elected unanimously as 2014 chairman of the Manatee County Port Authority. MCPA members serve four-year staggered terms with an annual election of officers.

The authority sets policy and oversees major expenditures for the port. It is comprised of the seven members of the elected Manatee County Commission, but with distinctively separate officers and financial accountability.

Other Manatee County Port Authority officers re-elected unanimously include: John Chappie, first vice chairman; Michael Gallen, second vice chairman; and Vanessa Baugh, third vice chairman. Port Manatee’s governing body is completed by the members Larry Bustle, Robin DiSabatino and Betsy Benac.

The MCPA meets on the third Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. at the Port Manatee Intermodal Center, 1905 Intermodal Circle at Port Manatee. The meetings are open to the public.