Governing Board

Port Manatee is a dependent special district created by the Florida Legislature in 1967. The port is governed by the Manatee County Port Authority – a seven-member oversight board which sets policy and oversees major expenditures for the port. Manatee County Port Authority members serve four-year staggered terms with an annual election of officers.

While the Manatee County Port Authority is comprised of the same seven members as the elected Manatee County Commission – each governing body has a separate set of officers and financial accountability. Port Manatee is not a unit of Manatee County Government and does not receive ad-valorem tax support from the citizens of Manatee County.

Priscilla Whisenant Trace

Chairman – Reggie Bellamy

Commissioner Bellamy was born and raised in Manatee County and has one son.

More Info

Misty Servia

Member – Misty Servia

Misty has lived in Manatee County since 1988 after accepting her first job as a planner for Manatee County government. She worked for the Manatee County Planning Department for nearly 18 years, where she met her husband Joaquin. Misty and Joaquin have three children.

More info

Vanessa Baugh

Member – Vanessa Baugh

Commissioner Baugh is originally from Virginia and moved to Florida in 1999.

She and her husband, Don started Vanessa Fine Jewelry in 1999, which is located on Lakewood Main Street. They have 4 children and 10 grandchildren.

More Info

Stephen R. Jonsson

Member – George Kruse

Commissioner Kruse grew up in Sarasota and moved to Manatee County in 2008. George has made a lifelong career in commercial real estate finance and affordable housing.

More Info

Reggie Bellamy

Member – James Satcher

James Satcher is a devoted husband, father of five and minister with hands on experience making positive changes in Manatee County.

More Info

Betsy Benac

Member – Kevin Van Ostenbridge

Kevin Van Ostenbridge is a native of Manatee County and a third generation Floridian with a passion for his community.

More Info

Carol Whitmore

Member – Carol Whitmore

Originally from Dearborn Heights, Mich., Ms. Whitmore moved to Manatee County in 1969 and grew up on Anna Maria Island. She is a graduate of Manatee High School, Manatee Technical Institute and has an associate of science degree from Manatee Community College. Ms. Whitmore is a licensed registered nurse and was a certified health risk manager until 2006.

More Info